Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Auto Insurance Companies

Arizona Car Insurance Policies

Understanding all of the ins and outs of how Arizona car insurance policies work may just end up saving you money on your AZ auto insurance. With a total population of approximately six million people and a median age of 34, there are many drivers licensed in Arizona. As the 48th state to join the United States, Arizona has also joined many other states in passing and enforcing various laws that involve drivers. Some laws directly impact Arizona car insurance coverage while others only affect it if a violation has occurred.

Legal Liability and Proof of Financial Responsibility for Arizona Car Insurance Policies

Every car owner and driver must carry a minimum liability of Arizona auto insurance or provide proof of financial responsibility. Arizona requires $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident for Bodily Injury Liability and $10,000 for Property Damage Liability. Once you have registered your vehicle you have 30 days to provide proof of insurance or risk being fined $250 for non-compliance.

You can also be found non-compliant if you don’t carry proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times or if you fail to provide proof of insurance at the scene of an accident in which you’re involved. Arizona is a tort state, which means if you are found at fault for an accident, the other non-fault party and his passengers have the right to sue you for medical costs as well as damages for pain and suffering.

Your insurance company is legally obligated to notify the Arizona Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) if you cancel your policy or fail to renew it. They must also verify and confirm your policy in the event you are involved in an accident or are arrested for a vehicular incident. The state is able to seek out violators by comparing registrations against the list of policies that insurance companies are required to submit.

Driving Under the Influence and Arizona Car Insurance Policies

Under no circumstances are open containers of alcohol allowed in the car; not for the driver nor for the passengers. Arizona is a .08 state as far as Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is concerned. This means that your license can be suspended or revoked immediately at the time your BAC is revealed to be .08 or greater. Any type of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) will most undoubtedly result in increased insurance premiums.

Since Arizona has the Implied Consent Law, you automatically consent to taking a BAC or urine test simply by choosing to drive in the state. If you refuse to be tested for alcohol content or drug use, your license can be suspended or revoked.

Although a preliminary breath test is not admissible in court, the law allows the use of a hand held device such as an Alco-sensor to determine if a BAC test is needed. If the preliminary breath test comes back positive and a BAC test is then taken, the results of the BAC test are admissible in court. If you are found guilty of a DUI and go to court, you will not be allowed to take a DUI Plea Bargain. DUI Plea Bargains are allowed in some states, allowing you to avoid trial by pleading guilty to a lesser charge.

Arizona Car Insurance Policies for the Young and the Mature

There are many Arizona car insurance discounts available through insurance companies that relate to vehicle safety and combined policy discounts. You can also earn discounts for having a good driving record and some companies extend discounts to mature drivers for completing Defensive Driving courses as well as giving credit to students who academically maintain above average grades. To compare discounts and find affordable auto insurance, use one of the free quote tools provided by many websites.

Mature drivers are required to get their vision tested at renewal time, but are not normally required to take a road test. However, if you have been in multiple car accidents or meet other certain conditions, a road test will be mandatory. If you are diagnosed with a condition that impairs your ability to drive, your doctor will not be required to report it to either the DMV or your insurance company, so it is your responsibility to maintain safe driving practices. Once you reach 70 years of age you will no longer be allowed to renew your driver’s license.

Teenagers aged 15 to 18 must undergo Graduated Licensing. While a Learner’s Permit is required for a minimum of six months, a provisional license is not required prior to obtaining a full driver’s license. Arizona has zero tolerance for any driver under the age of 21 that has a BAC of anything other than zero and will consider any BAC to be a DUI. Teenagers do not have night time driving restrictions nor are they limited to the number of passengers they can have in their car except for the maximum as defined by law.

Finding the Best Arizona Auto Insurance Policy

Arizona’s auto insurance laws are similar to many other states and while the fines and repercussions vary, inevitably insurance is effected the same. Good driving is rewarded by lower premiums and discounted rates while traffic violations and vehicular convictions can raise your premiums and sometimes cancel your policy altogether. Drive carefully and use our free Arizona car insurance quote finder to compare the very best Arizona car insurance rates online!

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Copyright © 2018 Arizona Car Insurance